ASN logo
ASN Wikibase Occurrence # 171124
 
This information is added by users of ASN. Neither ASN nor the Flight Safety Foundation are responsible for the completeness or correctness of this information. If you feel this information is incomplete or incorrect, you can submit corrected information.

Date:09-NOV-2014
Time:12:25 JST
Type:Silhouette image of generic B752 model; specific model in this crash may look slightly different    
Boeing 757-251 (WL)
Owner/operator:Delta Air Lines
Registration: N545US
MSN: 26492/711
Fatalities:Fatalities: 0 / Occupants: 171
Other fatalities:0
Aircraft damage: Unknown
Location:450 km south-southeast of Iwoto island -   Pacific Ocean
Phase: En route
Nature:Passenger - Scheduled
Departure airport:Kansai International Airport (KIX/RJBB), Japan
Destination airport:Guam/Antonio B. Won Pat International Airport (GUM/PGUM), USA
Confidence Rating: Information is only available from news, social media or unofficial sources
Narrative:
A Boeing 757-251 operated as DAL/DL294 from Osaka/Kansai to Guam diverted to Iwoto Air Base (IWO/RJAW), Japan due to No.1 engine trouble. The flight 294 departed Kansai at 09:56 JST (00:56 UTC), and the scheduled time of arrival at Guam was 14:45 ChST (04:45 UTC). The engine trouble emerged at 12:25 JST (03:25 UTC) at 450 km south-southeast of Iwoto island, Ogasawara islands, and the plane made a safe landing at Iwoto Air Base at 13:15 JST (04:15 UTC), according to the Delta Air Lines' web site. The flight was continued with another Boeing 757-251(WL), N536US, according to the Flightradar24.com record, and it departed at 21:20 JST (12:20 UTC), arrived at Guam at 00:25 ChST next day (14:25 UTC of 9th November). Iwoto Air Base has a single runway 07/25 (2650m x 60m), and is operated by the Japan Maritime Self-Defence Force.

Sources:

https://headlines.yahoo.co.jp:443/hl?a=20141110-00000099-jij-soci
http://ja.delta.com/flifo/servlet/DeltaFlifo?airline_code=DL&flight_number=294&flight_date=11/09/2014&request=main

Other occurrences involving this aircraft

9 Jan 2014 N545US Delta Air Lines 0 ca. 385km south of Narita airport (NRT/RJAA), Japan unk
23 Jan 2016 N545US Delta Air Lines 0 near Narita International Airport (NRT/RJAA) unk


Images:

Photo of N545US courtesy AirHistory.net


Los Angeles - International (KLAX / LAX)
11 March 2022; (c) Anton Homma

Revision history:

Date/timeContributorUpdates
10-Nov-2014 12:05 isamuel Added

Corrections or additions? ... Edit this accident description

The Aviation Safety Network is an exclusive service provided by:
Quick Links:

CONNECT WITH US: FSF Facebook FSF Twitter FSF Youtube FSF LinkedIn FSF Instagram

©2022 Flight Safety Foundation

701 N. Fairfax St., Ste. 250
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
www.FlightSafety.org