ASN logo
ASN Wikibase Occurrence # 171145
Last updated: 3 January 2021
This information is added by users of ASN. Neither ASN nor the Flight Safety Foundation are responsible for the completeness or correctness of this information. If you feel this information is incomplete or incorrect, you can submit corrected information.

Date:09-NOV-2014
Time:c. 17:10 HK
Type:Silhouette image of generic B744 model; specific model in this crash may look slightly different
Boeing 747-412
Owner/operator:Cathay Pacific Airways
Registration: B-HKU
C/n / msn: 27069/1010
Fatalities:Fatalities: 0 / Occupants:
Other fatalities:0
Aircraft damage: Unknown
Location:several ten km southeast of Hong Kong -   Pacific Ocean
Phase: Initial climb
Nature:Passenger - Scheduled
Departure airport:Hong Kong/Chek Lap Kok International Airport (HKG/VHHH)
Destination airport:Tokyo/Haneda International Airport (HND/RJTT)
Narrative:
A Boeing 747-412 operated as CPA/CX542 from Hong Kong to Tokyo-Haneda returned from several ten kilometers southeast of Hong Kong, over the South China Sea, to Hong Kong due to some engine trouble. The flight departed from Hong Kong at 16:20 HKT (08:20 UTC), and landed back at 17:45 HKT (09:45 UTC). No injury was reported. According to the Flightradar24.com record, the ship was replaced with another B747-467, B-HUG, and it arrived at Haneda midnight, which was about three hours behind the original schedule.

Sources:

https://headlines.yahoo.co.jp:443/hl?a=20141110-00000049-rcdc-cn


Images:

Photo of B-HKU courtesy AirHistory.net


London - Heathrow (EGLL / LHR)
6 January 2012; (c) John Smitherman

Revision history:

Date/timeContributorUpdates
10-Nov-2014 18:52 isamuel Added

Corrections or additions? ... Edit this accident description