ASN logo
ASN Wikibase Occurrence # 180522
Last updated: 15 October 2021
This information is added by users of ASN. Neither ASN nor the Flight Safety Foundation are responsible for the completeness or correctness of this information. If you feel this information is incomplete or incorrect, you can submit corrected information.

Date:19-OCT-2015
Time:18:40
Type:Silhouette image of generic B788 model; specific model in this crash may look slightly different
Boeing 787-8 Dreamliner
Owner/operator:United Airlines
Registration: N27901
MSN: 34821/45
Fatalities:Fatalities: 0 / Occupants: 222
Other fatalities:0
Aircraft damage: Minor
Location:Kansai International Airport/Osaka (KIX/RJBB) -   Japan
Phase: Landing
Nature:Passenger - Scheduled
Departure airport:San Francisco International Airport (SFO/KSFO), CA, USA
Destination airport:Kansai International Airport/Osaka (KIX/RJBB), Japan
Narrative:
A Boeing 787-8 Dreamliner operating UAL/UA35 from San Francisco, USA to Osaka/Kansai made an emergency landing at the runway 06L of Kansai at 18:40JST (09:40UTC) due to a punctured tire of the right main landing gear. A safe landing was carried out with fire engines standing by, and the plane taxied to its gate normally. No injuried were reported. According to a news source, the flight crew noticed low pressure warning on the tire while descending at 130km west-northwest of KIX at about 17:40JST (08:40UTC), however, the plane was leveled at FL400 at about 340km northwest of KIX, at that time, according to the Flightradar24.com record.

Sources:

http://web.archive.org/web/20151023050940/http://mainichi.jp:80/select/news/20151020k0000m040153000c.html
http://www.sankei.com/west/news/151019/wst1510190086-n1.html


Images:

Photo of N27901 courtesy AirHistory.net


Amsterdam - Schiphol (EHAM / AMS)
6 May 2021; (c) Gerard Helmer

Revision history:

Date/timeContributorUpdates
19-Oct-2015 16:11 isamuel Added

Corrections or additions? ... Edit this accident description